When I was 12, my dad took me to a NY Rangers hockey game in Madison Square Garden.
We took a bus into the city and it was a real special night.
On the way home, there was some drunk idiot on the bus and he just kept on singing the following song:
I like beer…it makes me feel mellow.
I like beer…it makes me pee yellow.
After about 15 minutes, my dad had enough of it, got in his face, and told him to keep quiet. It was one of the only times I ever saw my dad angry.
Beer sure can make you do funny things.
Which brings us to today’s query:
Should celiacs drink Omission Beer?
As I’ve stated before, I used to be a beer snob and it was a big loss when I was diagnosed with celiac disease.
The pickings were slim five years ago but lately, the gluten-free beer options have much improved.
When Omission Beer came out, I was totally stoked. I heard that it was one of the best on the market and I envisioned sitting by the pool, soaking up the sun and savoring the taste of a fine brew.
But then I heard it was made with barley and I got totally confused.
How can it be gluten-free if it’s made with barley?
Last week, Omission Beer reached out to me and asked me if I’d like a free sample. (Woo-hoo…FREE BEER!!)
Their email said that “everyone can enjoy Omission beer, regardless if they have Celiac disease or are gluten intolerant.”
Here was my response: I would love some samples as I’m a total beer snob. Here is my dilemma though. Omission is very straight up that the beer contains some gluten, but less than the 20ppm. Do other gfree beers also contain gluten but are just not open about it?
And they came back with this: You are correct that we are very transparent of our brewing process and the gluten content in the beer. We are the only U.S. beer brand making beers for the gluten intolerant using barley.
I was still confused so I did some more research.
I found the following on their website FAQ:
Is Omission beer gluten free?
Omission beer is brewed with malted barley, but we’ve developed a proprietary process to remove the gluten to ensure that gluten levels in every batch measure well below the widely accepted international gluten-free standard of 20 parts per million (ppm) for food and beverages. According to federal guidelines, we aren’t legally allowed to claim that Omission beer is gluten-free outside of Oregon because the beer is brewed with malted barley. While the FDA proposed to define the term “gluten-free,” that definition has not been formally adopted by the organization. While Omission beer does contain barley, one of the “prohibited grains” in this definition, all batches are tested by an independent lab using the R5 Competitive ELISA to ensure that gluten levels meet our standards.
God…our labeling laws just suck.
To me…gluten-free should mean gluten-free. And if it’s not gluten-free, how can it be safe for celiacs?
Is 20ppm really ok for celiacs to tolerate? I still haven’t seen a definitive study on this.
I don’t blame the good folks at Omission beer. They are being extremely open and honest about their beer. And I truly, truly appreciate that.
And there is a good chance that if I drank it, I’d be totally fine.
Well…I’d have a nice buzz, but I’d be fine celiac-wise. You know what I mean :)
But I’m not going to drink it unless somebody can prove to me otherwise that I should.
So Omission Beer in a way is being punished for being transparent.
What do you folks think? Have you tried it? If so, how did you feel. If not, would you drink it?