Is This Gluten Free?
Being gluten-free means spending a lot of time looking things up. If I had started this list when I was first diagnosed, it would have thousands of products on it. And that’s where YOU come in. I’d like you to help grow this list so it becomes a go-to source for those trying to find out if a product is gluten-free or not.
The next time you need to look something up, complete this form and let us know what you discovered. It will only take a minute and you’ll be helping so many. And darn it…doesn’t that just feel good?
Select a Product:
Are Ore-Ida Tater Tots Gluten Free?
This question came to me on my Facebook page and the research I did definitely leads to some confusion. It seems they used to have a gluten-free product list on their website (which I could not locate) and while the Tater Tots were once listed, they were removed. But people have written to them and their response has consistently been that all of their Tater Tots are gluten free. And there is nothing in the ingredients list that would lead me to believe otherwise. Go ahead. Enjoy those tots.
Is Modified Food Starch Gluten Free?
(Reader submission) When I discovered I had a gluten/wheat food allergy, I immediately went through my cupboards and started reading levels. I has been almost a year and I feel fantastic. My issue was that I kept seeing this “modified food starch” in about everything. According to the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness “While modified food starches can be made from a variety of foods, including corn, waxy maize, tapioca, potato, or wheat, in North America the most common sources are modified corn, waxy maize, and potato. Wheat is only occasionally used as the source for modified food starches in the U.S. If wheat is used as the source, it must be declared on the label as modified wheat starch or modified food starch (wheat). If a food product manufactured in North America has modified food starch listed as an ingredient, but “wheat” is not listed on the label, then it is safe to eat.”
Is Near East Spanish Rice Gluten Free?
(Reader submission) My mother-in-law was trying to accommodate me and make a delicious tortilla lasagna for dinner when I visited. She emailed me about Near East Spanish Rice. At first glance, it looked gluten free, but she wanted to check with me just in case (I am so lucky to have in-laws that care!). I checked the Near East website and found this: “While Near East is proud to offer a variety of grain dishes to suit many needs and tastes, we cannot guarantee that any of our products are gluten free. Because our products are processed in facilities alongside other ingredients that contain gluten, there is always a slight risk of cross contact.” Obviously not worth the risk, but I hate that I have to break the news to the mother-in-law. Good thing she is so understanding!
Is Baileys Irish Cream Gluten Free?
Since I don’t eat (or drink) dairy, Baily’s is one of the many items crossed off my list, whether it’s gluten-free or not. But is it? A reader wants to know. The unfortunate answer is…they won’t tell us. Their website said it contains whiskey, but whiskey is gluten-free. They don’t list the other ingredients used. From what I’ve read, people’s reactions to it are hit or miss. I’m giving it a thumbs down.
Is Vodka Gluten Free?
And…exhale. Yes, all vodka is gluten-free, even those that are wheat-based. All of the gluten is removed during the distillation process. If you still don’t want to risk it, there are a number of vodkas on the market that are corn, potato or grape based. I’m a big Tito’s fan. One caveat…stay away from flavored vodka unless you can confirm they are gluten-free. Bottoms up.
Is Colgate Mouthwash Gluten Free?
Sometimes it just happens that I realize I’ve been using a product that I had assumed was gluten-free, but I never actually verified it. Colgate Mouthwash falls under that category when I had a Yikes! moment today. After ten minutes of searching online, I can can confidently say that I have absolutely no idea. I’m switching to Tom’s of Maine, starting now.
Are Hershey Bars Gluten Free?
I’m not a candy guy. Never even loved Halloween as a kid. But that doesn’t mean I don’t the the very occasional sweet tooth and man was I jonesing for something sweet last night. The dudette had a Hershey Bar with Almond in the fridge. I was pretty sure it was safe but needed to double check. The Hershey website does it right. Clear as day it lists all of their gluten-free items. It was delicious. And yes…I had a stomach ache afterwards.
Are El Paso Taco Shells Gluten Free?
It’s Taco Night at the Dude Ranch. I think I’ve had the El Paso taco shells before, but always better safe than sorry. Everybody seems to say they are gluten free except one person said she called the company directly and based on the number on the box, they did indeed include gluten. People on Twitter said they’ve had them for years with no issues. I am pretty sure they are safe, but I decided not to risk it. No Shell For You!!
Is Advil Gluten Free?
The Gluten Dude is stressed. Life is crazy. Put it all together and I’ve got one whopping headache. Mrs. Dude, bless her heart, offered to get me some aspirin and asked if I could have Advil Liqui-Gels. My initial response was “of course I can have Advil.” Ahhh, but can I have the Advil Liqui-Gels? It turns out I cannot. They contain a wheat derivitive. Normal Advil is ok. What woulda thunk it?
Is Fuze Ice Tea Gluten Free?
Mrs. Dude and one of the Dudettes went food shopping today and brought home some Fuze ice tea for themselves. Since being a celiac means never being able to eat or drink something impulsively, and I couldn’t prounounce half of the ingredients, I had to look it up. Well…that wasn’t easy. After ten minutes, I could not find a definitive answer anywhere. I’m leaning toward yes, but cannot guarantee it.
Is Sake Gluten Free?
We are invited to a friend’s house tonite and they said we’ll be drinking warm sake. Very nice. I think. Sake is made from rice but sometimes barley is added. But the barley is removed during the fermentation process. I think. So what does this mean? Looks like I’ll be drinking vodka.
Is Pam Cooking Spray Gluten Free?
It’s lunch time and I’m about to make my salmon, rice and veggie dish for the 17th straight day. But crap, I’m out of my Wegman’s brand cooking spray, which I know is gluten-free. I reach for the Pam Cooking Spray instead. Need to look this one up. Here is what their website says: PAM Original, PAM Butter, and PAM Olive Oil do not contain any ingredients derived from wheat products. However, PAM Baking is not gluten-free, as it contains real flour, which is derived from wheat.
Are Junior Mints Gluten Free?
One of the Dudettes decided to go gluten-free for a week to show her support for the Dude. How cool is that? But could she have her favorite candy, Junior Mints? Some of the ingredients would personally give me pause, but their website says they are completely gluten-free. The Dudette is pleased.
Is Red Bull Gluten Free?
An overnight guest brought some of these to the Dude Ranch. It’s not my thing. I get a rush out of life itself. And lots of coffee. But I was still curious if Red Bull was gluten free or not. Lots of ingredients I can’t pronounce. A quick search and right away I find that yes, it is indeed gluten-free. So for all you celiacs who need a burst of energy…go for it.
Is French’s Yellow Mustard Gluten Free?
Mrs. Dude picked up some Boars Head lunch meat and I have some Schar’s rolls. Put it together and you’ve got yourself a sandwich. But it’s been so long since I’ve had one, I don’t know if I can have the French’s Yellow Mustard. Well that was easy. Right on their website…all of French’s mustards are gluten free. Lunch is served!
Are Edy’s Fruit Bars Gluten Free?
Hmmm…a little post turkey-burger summer treat. I’d like to think the Edy’s Fruit Bars are all-natural, but alas there are some unfamiliar ingredients. Let’s see what we find. Their website actually has a gluten faq, but it doesn’t provide any real answers. Ok…found two sites that say they heard directly from Edy’s that they are indeed gluten free. Now, which flavor should I pick??
Is Log Cabin Syrup Gluten Free?
French toast on Father’s Day. What could be better? Syrup would be nice. All we had in the house was Log Cabin Original Syrup (with no high-fructose corn syrup). After some research, this one is a bit tricky. It seems all of Log Cabin’s syrups are gluten-free EXCEPT the sugar free ones, which contains barley. So is mine sugar free because it contains no HFCS? It is not…there is indeed sugar. Of course there is…god forbid they make it healthy.
Are Philly Gourmet Burgers Gluten Free?
Our first summer BBQ at the Dude Ranch. But we’re using a brand of burgers I’ve never had before. I had no confidence I would find something. But as it’s been proven over and over again, I’m wrong much more than I’m right. It was an easy find. Only their meatballs contain gluten. The burgers are totally fine. Now about the bun?!?
Is Jack Daniels Gluten Free?
Had my first Jack Daniels last night in six years. Thank you cousin Aaron for the gift. Had one small glass on the rocks and my stomach hurt. Like a lot. Can’t be the JD, can it? A quick check on their site confirms that it’s safe. The distillation process removes the gluten, as with other hard liquors. So why did my stomach hurt??
Is Chi-Chis Salsa Gluten Free?
Mrs. Dude put out some chips and salsa for our weekend company. We have not had Chi Chis before. Hmmmm. Seems ok, but of course that is never enough to go by. On the Hormel website, found this: “The following list of products may contain vinegar. This vinegar would normally be white distilled vinegar. Other types of vinegar are listed on the ingredient statement. While our sources indicate that these types of vinegar are gluten free, you will need to make your own determination on whether you want to use these products.” When in doubt…do without. Plain chips it is.
Is Three Olives Dude Vodka Gluten Free?
(05/25/2012) I love when we have company; especially when they bring vodka. And this one was too cool, in honor of me. But is it gluten-free? Vodkas are gluten-free by nature, but you need to be careful about the flavored vodkas. Took me a bit of time to confirm, but finally found something on their Twitter account. It is gluten free. Bottoms up!
Are Hebrew National Hot Dogs Gluten Free?
The hot dog is not for me…I don’t think my insides would tolerate it. But I was curious to see if they were gluten free. The company website said nothing. But every other site I came across said they were indeed gluten free. Not healthy mind you…but gluten free.
Is Truvia Gluten Free?
After giving up cream in my coffee, I am now breaking my Splenda addiction. I’ll be weening myself via Truvia. But can I have it? I certainly can. Right on their website it says it does not contain gluten. That was easy!
Is Aunt Jemima Original Syrup Gluten Free?
A rare Sunday french toast breakfast for the Gluten Dude. So rare that the only syrup we had was the kid’s Aunt Jemima original syrup. Looked at ingredients. Yuck! First two ingredient are pure crap. Checked their website. Old, outdated and not helpful. Googled it. The consensus seems to be that it is gluten free, but I’m not convinced. Nor do I want something that ungodly unhealthy. My first dry french toast ever. Tasted great.
Is Hormel Bacon Gluten Free?
I got a call from Mrs. Dude while she was at the store about this item. I love me some bacon! Right on the Hormel website is a Gluten Free Product List. That’s the way it’s done. It looks like the Hormel Black Label Bacon, the Hormel Microwave Bacon and the Hormel Fully Cooked Bacon are all gluten-free. Mmmmmm….bacon.
Is Tribe Hummus Gluten Free?
It used to say right on the container that it was gluten free, but no more. Bummer…now I need to look it up. Here’s what it says on their site: “Tribe Hummus does not contain any gluten or wheat ingredients, and there is no gluten or wheat present in our manufacturing process. Although we are not certified “gluten free,” hummus is naturally a gluten-free food. Periodically, we test our products for gluten to be certain the levels meet the proposed FDA limits.” I guess we’re good.
Total time spent looking: 3 minutes
Is Miracle Whip Gluten Free?
Modified corn starch, spices and natural flavor add up to one confusing label for us celiacs. They even claim “Our secret ingredient is our mixed up blend of spices.” Yikes! Seems to be a lot of varying opinions online. A lot of “they say it’s gluten free, but it may contain soy.” Wait…hold the presses! Home run. Just found on the Kraft site itself. All Kraft products will state a gluten ingredient if it includes gluten. Miracle Whip does not. It’s safe.
Is McCormick Taco Seasoning Gluten Free?
A few tricky ingredients listed: Whey Solids, Potato Starch and Spices. I found this on their website: “When WHEAT is the source, it will always be called out within the ingredient statement, and listed in bold.We do not maintain a list of gluten-free products, as our formulas change from time to time.” All other websites I checked said it is indeed gluten free, including a person who called the company directly in October 2010. I’m giving this one a passing grade.
Are Craisins Gluten Free?
The ingredients are simply cranberries and sugar, but I need to be sure. One website said they think so. One website said yes. But the Ocean Spray website said that they’re juices and sauces are gluten free. But that two of their Craisin brands do indeed contain gluten. But they didn’t say anything about the basic Original Craisins. I’m not convinced they’re gluten free. Rats. Update on 05/11/12: Several people have commented (below) that their bag of Craisins now says Gluten Free. I guess I can change my verdict.
Are Mentos Gluten Free?
No ingredients listed. Their website says yes they are gluten free. But it doesn’t seem that simple. As of 2007, they use wheat glucose syrup as an ingredient, but they say it passes the gluten-free test due to the small amount used. But they manufacture on a facility that handles wheat. So even though the company says Mentos are gluten free, I would not risk it.
Are Bellino Sun Dried Tomatoes Gluten Free?
Ingredients check out ok…except for the unknown “spices”. I visit my good friend Google and bam!…the first result is the company website’s “gluten-free” page. Love that. Yep…they are gluten free.
Is McCormick Cocktail Sauce Gluten Free?
What’s shrimp without a little cocktail sauce? But can I have it? Ingredients show high fructose corn syrup (why? why? why?) and natural and artificial flavors. No answer there. The company website does not say. But Cecilia’s Marketplace and many, many others say it’s fine and that McCormick will say an item contains gluten if it does. So I’ll trust the experts on this one.
Is SkinnyGirl Cosmo Gluten Free?
A friend brought a bottle of the SkinnyGirl Cosmo to the Dude ranch. I was curious how it tasted as I can make a killer cosmo on my own. But does it have gluten? Because it’s alcohol, it does not have to list the ingredients. All it says on the bottle is the vague “natural flavors”. No information about gluten on their god-awful website. According to Erin on Gluten Free Fun, the Skinnygirl Margarita is gluten free. But I cannot find anything about the cosmo. Ah well, time to make my own. It is 5:00 somewhere.
Is Signature Cafe Roasted Chicken Gluten Free?
Ingredients look somewhat safe, except the dreaded “spices” and “natural flavorings”. Doesn’t specify on the company website. Let’s Google. One discussion (between 2 people) says yes, except for possible cross contamination. Another said they called Safeway and they were vague and said to ask the deli people at the store (who didn’t know what gluten was). Bottom line: I have no idea.
Is Trident Gum Gluten Free?
I have been chewing Trident gum forever (not the same piece) and I believe it has always been gluten free. But when they came out with new packaging, I figured it was a good time to check up on it again. Easy pickings. Right on their site, it states that all trident gum is gluten free.
Is Progresso Tomato Parmesan Soup Gluten Free?
The Dude wants some soup. Found a nice can of Progresso Reduce Sodium Tomato Parmesan. Ingredients seem to be ok but I’m not 100% sure so I go to the Progresso website. On top of the site there is a “Gluten Free” link. I assume this will list their gluten free items. Yippee! I click the link. It takes me to a totally different site. Huh?? Oh…but on the bottom of the page, you can view all reduced sodium soups that are gluten free. Nice. This one is NOT listed. I wish I knew which ingredient made this not gluten free.
Is Theraflu Sinus & Cold Gluten Free?
Still feeling lousy. Need meds. We’ve got some Theraflu Liquid Sinus & Cold. Off to the races to see if it’s gluten free. Hmmmm…a lot of sites say the Theraflu Cold & Cough is gluten-free. The Theraflu site says nothing (arghh!). Cannot find anything about this specific product. Rats.
Is Target Brand Sudafed Gluten Free?
The Dude is feeling under the weather today and Mrs. Dude wanted to give me some Target brand Sudafed. None of the ingredients made it clear. Looked online and could not locate anything with certainty. Called Target customer service. They did not know. They connected us to their “ingredient specialists”. They also did not know. But they said they will look into it and call us back…within a week (by which time of course I’ll feel fine).
Follow up note: We received a phone call on 2/14 and it is indeed gluten free.