I know. I know. It’s such a shallow question. I mean, you’ve just been diagnosed with Celiac disease. Alcohol is the last thing on your mind. Or is it??
I’ve been known to enjoy a cocktail or two and for me, it was front and center in my mind. I knew beer was out the window (sigh) but what about wine…or vodka…or my special margarita (lots of fresh lime, dash of orange juice)?
Rest easy. You can still drink.
If you’re a beer snob like me, it hurts. No getting around it. But there is good news. There are some decent gluten free beers out there made from sorghum (New Grist is currently my personal favorite) and there are more and more coming to market as the brewers realize there is a demand and it’s not going away. Dogfish Head, my pre-celiac favorite brewer, is coming out with a gluten-free beer in December. Very cool. And here are a few more you may want to try. If you find one you love, by all means let me know and I’ll spread the word.
This includes vodka, gin, rum, tequila, scotch and whiskey. You may think these are prohibited because many of them are made from wheat, barley or rye. But the distillation process actually removes all of the gluten making them completely safe to drink. There are also vodkas made from potato instead of grains, so if you want to play it extra safe, you can always go in this direction.
Totally safe. Some wine coolers may not be safe so be sure to check with the manufacturer. But if you’re still drinking wine coolers…well, that’s a topic for another day.
Tread lightly and be conservative. There seems to be no definitive answer on these. If in doubt, don’t drink it.
Most are safe, but check the labels as some are made with barley.
So What’s the Bottom Line?
Make a Grey Goose martini. Enjoy a Tanquery and tonic. Go nuts with your Captain Morgan and Cokes. Savor a nice Merlot. Do your shots of Cuervo.
You may not feel great in the morning…but it won’t be because of gluten.