Related Articles

22 Comments

  1. 1

    Sile Farrell

    Producers don’t make it easy at all. They are catering for the majority & making the quickest buck at the fastest time. Us Coeliac’s/Celiac’s will have to keep fighting for better labeling. Congratulations on post.

    Reply
    1. 1.1

      The Gluten Dude

      Absolutely! It’s really not that difficult to add “contains gluten” on a label. Oh, but it cuts into their obscene profits…now I understand.

      Reply
    2. 1.2

      Debbie

      The only Bloody Mary Seasoning that is gluten-free is Whodini Sisters! You mix it with Potato Vodka and tomato juice to make a Gluten-Free Cocktail! It is all natural and has no MSG unlike all the other mixes. Delicious!

      Reply
  2. 2

    Zaritsky

    I thought you were referring to THIS Mister T…

    Reply
    1. 2.1

      The Gluten Dude

      I pity the fool who puts gluten in their bloody mary mix. I pity the fool!

      Reply
  3. 3

    Dr Kirk Smick

    Why, specifically, is Mr ans Mrs T’s Bloody Mary mix not gluten free? I read the ingredients and can’t figure it out.

    Reply
    1. 3.1

      The Gluten Dude

      I wish I knew specifically, but I don’t. Maybe one of the ingredients that I don’t know how to pronounce. Or maybe the way it’s packaged. Or the facility it’s made in. Perhaps if the Mr. and Mrs. read my blog, they could let us know.

      Reply
  4. 4

    Chris

    Here are three more Bloody Mary mixes that you can investigate. Looks like these have significantly better ingredients in them!
    http://www.tastingtable.com/entry_detail/national/6812/The_original_Bloody_Mary_mix_has_begat_a_sea_of_followers.htm

    Reply
    1. 4.1

      The Gluten Dude

      Thanks for the info Chris.

      But alas, the Zing Zang Bloody Mary mix contains gluten. It actually contains soy, wheat and gluten. Sigh. Couldn’t find the ingredients for the Fat and Juicy Mix but I’ll keep looking.

      I won’t be drinking a bloody mary until first thing tomorrow morning, so I have time.

      Reply
      1. 4.1.1

        john

        Hey Gluten Dude! I was clicking around and saw this – Fat & Juicy Bloody Mary Mix is in fact gluten free! Hope you try it sometime! Cheers!! – John

        Reply
        1. 4.1.1.1

          The Gluten Dude

          Good to know John. Will keep my eyes peeled for it. Figuratively.

          Reply
  5. 5

    Sassy Celiactivist

    The life of a Celiac: “When in doubt, go without!” boooooooo.

    Reply
    1. 5.1

      The Gluten Dude

      Got that right Sassy!

      Reply
  6. 6

    Jaime

    EXACTLY what we go through here. My husband is GF because of Durand’s Disease (that damn rash). This gave us booth a chuckle this evening as we’re surfing for F Bloody Mary mixes. Thanks!

    Reply
    1. 6.1

      The Gluten Dude

      Cheers!

      Reply
  7. 7

    Andrew

    Vinegar sometimes has gluten in it, I would bet that is the ingredient that contains gluten.

    Reply
  8. 8

    Dr Kirk Smick

    I am very sensitive and have no trouble with the Original recipe

    Reply
  9. 9

    SKV

    Hey gluten dude I just looked on the website for mr and mrs t Bloody Mary mix. It seems the original and bold&spicy Bloody Mary mixes contain no allergens. The horseradish Bloody Mary mix does because it contains soy sauce in it. Here’s the website: http://www.dpsgproductfacts.com/discover/MR_MRS_T
    Happy gluten-free eating (and drinking)!

    Reply
  10. 10

    Jamison

    Hi Gluten Free Dude & Friends!

    Try Uncle Dougie’s Bloody Mary Mixes. They have three (spicy, mild, and a pom-mango). Along with these they have a variety of sauces, and rubs!

    Unlike most every other competitor out there there products are 100% Natural, Gluten-Free (no wheat extenders or thickeners), no high-fructose corn syrup and chemical free. Most all of the big brands such as Zing Zang are loaded with HFCS, MSG and other multi-syllabic chemicals that the Center for Science in the Public Interest has classified as “AVOID.”

    They were also stated and still operated by a local Chicago family. Check them out.

    originaluncledougies.com

    Reply
    1. 10.1

      Jeff

      I was very excited when you mentioned this! I was about to order some, but then I looked on the label and seen “distilled malt vinegar”. I know distilled is “supposed” to be gluten free, but I am still skeptical :(

      Reply
  11. 11

    Jessica

    Carmel Color is a gluten ingredient.

    Reply
  12. 12

    Kristian

    I actually called Mr & Mrs T’s comapny line and spoke with a representative. The only bloody mary mix in their product line that contains gluten is their horseradish bloody mary mix. All other bloody mary mixes are gluten-free. They note this on their website in their FAQ as well, although they do not call out the horseradish mix.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2014 Gluten Dude: The Naked Truth About Living Gluten Free | Website by Altera Web (alteraweb.com) | Legal Stuff